visiting home

25 06 2009

the adventure has begun and i the one good thing i can say about the flight is that my twins were not the worst babies on the plane, no that title goes to the 18 month old girl 2 rows in front of us. while i understand that there is only so much one person can do to soothe a screaming child, i can tell you the one thing a parent (and for sure not both parents) is absolutely NOT allowed to do while their child screams on a flight…they are not allowed to watch a movie while wearing their own Bose noise canceling headphones. i have sympathy, empathy even, but ah HELL NO. unless you brought a pair for everyone on the plane, you take those suckers off, put them on your kid and you stare in exasperated silence at dora or thomas the tank engine with a baby on your lap (even though you bought that baby his [& her!] own seat) for 15 hours like the rest of us.

flight

a few images from the start:

crawl

miniv

window

i got a new laptop here in los angeles and while i have calibrated it, i have not yet loaded photoshop. i am working with lightroom and trying to figure out how to edit on this fancy RGB-LED screen. if only the whole world could see how things looked on my computer…it is amazing. even the crappiest photos look like art. that is my disclaimer for any terrible photos that i may post. please excuse me as i get used to this new set up.

Actions

Information

11 responses

25 06 2009
Miz Booshay

Have a fantastic time!!! I know I will enjoy every single post and picture!!!

25 06 2009
Sarah

Ooooh, those parents make me CRAZY. I once sat next to a grandma and her toddler grandson (I was traveling solo… IIRC I was on my way to pick up S from my parents’ house). Grandma put on a DVD, no headphones, and went to sleep while grandson fussed and kind of watched.

Congrats on the new computer, and HAVE FUN!!!

25 06 2009
Angela

Wow. Nice parents. I am just so glad this year when we go back to Virginia that we have to buy both the kids tickets for their own seat. I know it’s nice to save money and have them sit on my lap (and it would be my lap) but I am glad the boy is over 2 so he gets his own seat.

25 06 2009
Kim

Have enjoyed looking at your pictures for a while now, but have never posted. You are extremely talented, both in your photography and your writing! What I wanted to mention here, though, is with regards to the forward-facing car seat. I know this is totally unsolicited advice, and apologies for that, but the one year mark is really considered the bare minimum for forward-facing, and there is a lot of research out there that says that rear-facing is the safest way to go for as long as possible (even up to four years old, if the child still meets the seat requirements for rear-facing).

Sorry again for being one of “those” moms giving out advice unasked. That photo just made me a little apprehensive. Enjoy your vacation home!

29 06 2009
sesameellis

we do take it all in consideration when making our decision. we went a bit longer than the mandated 6months rear facing in australia.

26 06 2009
Maddie's Mom

I have hysterical tears streaming down my cheeks. And my sides….oh they hurt. You have a gift for writing, I swear you do. I am laughing so hard…..and I needed this laugh.

Glad you’re enjoying your vacation! šŸ™‚

26 06 2009
Pau

Poor kid! I totally hate those parents. I’m glad my mum didn’t do that on my first plane travel. I was like two months old, heading to my godfather’s wedding šŸ™‚ I’m glad you’re safe and happy šŸ™‚

26 06 2009
DawnK

I’m glad your kids did well on the flight. I”m sorry the parents were ignoring the screaming toddler. Ugh.

27 06 2009
kristen morgan

so excited to read of your USA adventure! safe travels!

29 06 2009
Lori

hehe! I sent my husband a huge back of lollipops for their plane trip and he was so thankful!! Here’s to not having the worst baby on a plane!

1 07 2009
Jane

That’s when you ask, “Did you bring enough for the entire class?”

Leave a Reply

